To the Brink

Image

 

As I sit I ponder a thought through my mind of a few questions that are evident through time. Why don’t we say I love you enough? Why do we take what we have for granted? Because only when pushed to the limit, the brink, do we really slow down and stop to think. This sent me on a quest to put these questions to the test. 

The first man I came across was as wealthy as can be. Decked out with diamonds and living a life of luxury. I asked him where his family was. His parents, his kids and his wife. He said they are not important, all I ever wanted and need is money in my life. As he turned away I put a gun to his head. “Tell me again, and this time tell the truth” I said. He shouted “This is what I really want! My greed for money is all that I can have, this is my disgrace.” I lowered the gun and backed away as the man fell to the ground with tears running across his face. 

Then a woman I saw, her beauty comparable to the night sky. As I got closer I sensed an emptiness within her that made me want to cry. I asked her of what regrets she had. She said “nothing, what can I regret when I have a beauty that drives people mad.” As she turned away I put a gun to her head. “Tell me again, and this time tell the truth” I said. She had a look of fear in her eyes. “I want another moment with my mother before she died. I want to take back my last words, I told her I hated her! That’s what she last heard! The woman with beauty comparable to the night sky, only wished for one last goodbye. 

Then I crossed paths with a homeless man, out of all I’ve met I was sure he couldn’t understand. Of all that I was searching for, for so long. I did not realize that my assumptions were beyond wrong. I asked him of his regrets of the past that led to his current plight. He said “Sometimes you must close your eyes to have clear sight” Leaving me confused the man backed away I put a gun to his head. “Tell me again, and this time tell me the truth” I said. “Son, I have lived in poverty my entire life. And I am truly happy with my two children and my beautiful wife. I have seen how the wealthy treat those who don’t fit the mold. Playing with our emotions like we’re up for auction to be bought and sold. And for those who the world calls beautiful, I have witnessed their destructive path first hand. The pain they cause can even tear down even the strongest man. They may have it good for a while but remember this. After the money is gone and the beauty fades they can only reminisce. When it all fades it will show how poor and ugly they really are. They will see that beauty and wealth is determined by whats inside no matter the outside scars.”  

 

Now as I sit on the edge of my bed a different thought wanders through my mind. What have I done with my time? Why don’t I say I love you enough? Why do I take what I have for granted? Because, only when pushed to the limit, the brink do we really slow down and stop to think. As my reflection appears in the mirror, it all becomes much clearer. In disgust I started to turn my head, but instead. I raised my hand and put the gun to my head. “Tell me again, and this time tell the truth” I said. 

Leave a Reply

